top of page

Nancy Hartevelt Kobrin, Ph.D.

Psychoanalyst Counter Terrorist Expert

Welcome

The prologue to violence is early childhood.  I make explainable the violent nonverbal language of the jihadis which I call Jihadese. It reveals a rage that exceeds murder itself, as if it were serial killing.  Jihadese holds the key to political terrorism. Jihadese shows that the rage is not of this time, not of this place.  A deep dive into their psyche reveals this. Let's dive right in by exploring my work.

On the ground

Clinic, Military, Police, Educators

About

A psychoanalyst who becomes a counter terrorist expert delving into the mind and body language of the jihadi is a rarity. This is what I do - one of the deepest dives to date, to the best of my knowledge, into the mind of the jihadi. Having taught military and police, I realized that they do not have the opportunity to study early childhood development which is critical in order to understand why jihadis do the violent things that they do. They have a rage that exceeds murder itself. They annihilate the other and produce body parts as in serial killing. They are the tip of the spear. Also ontributing editor Weekly Blitz https://www.weeklyblitz.net/about-us/.

About
The Backstory

Die Hintergrundgeschichte

Ich habe eine Theorie der Bildlichkeit entwickelt, um die unbewusste Bedeutung islamischer Selbstmordanschläge zu erklären und um zu zeigen, dass diese eine Todesfusion beinhalten, d.h. dass man im Tod miteinander verschmilzt. Es handelt sich um das Gegenteil der Lebensfusion, der mütterlichen Symbiose: man stelle sich hier entweder das Bild einer schwangeren Frau und / oder einer Madonna mit Kind vor.

By Doïna Harap with a cameo appearance of Dr. Kobrin

Dschihadisch

Mein "Deep Dive Dictionary" enthüllt die besondere, gestörte nonverbale Sprache, in der die Dschihadisten kommunizieren. Ich habe acht Jahre damit verbracht, das “Jihadi-Wörterbuch. Das unverzichtbare Werkzeug für Militär, Strafverfolgung, Regierung und die betroffene Öffentlichkeit” zu erstellen: Das Wörterbuch erhielt eine hervorragende Rezension in deutscher Sprache in der renommierten Zeitschrift “Psyche” Bisher wurde das Wörterbuch von Joëlle Perelberg-Houriez ins Französische übersetzt, und es wird zur Zeit von der Universidad de Granada ins Spanische übertragen.

 

Das Wörterbuch baut innerhalb der Terrorismusbekämpfungsforschung einen Teilbereich über die kindliche Entwicklung auf. Angst ist nicht gleichbedeutend mit Schrecken Der Schrecken ist tief, frühkindlich und nonverbal. Die Dschihadisten sprechen in einer "mütterlichen” Pantomime über ihre eigenen Schrecken. Sie spüren ihre Schrecken nicht. Sie selbst werden zum Schreck. Sie projizieren diesen Schreck auf uns. Drücken Sie einfach die Stummschalttaste auf dem großen Bildschirm. Stellen Sie sich dann die Frage: Was sagen die Dschihadisten in Wirklichkeit?

 

War das Wörterbuch hilfreich? Um ein Beispiel zu nennen: Das Wörterbuch befindet sich jetzt in den Händen der französischen Anwälte, die weiterhin Gerechtigkeit für den schrecklichen Dschihad-Mord an Sarah Halimi z’l im Jahre 2017 suchen. Ihr Angreifer Kabili Traoré war im Marihuana-Rausch. Es gibt eine lange Geschichte des Drogenkonsums einschließlich Captagon. Haschisch ist eine Waffe des Dschihad. Es gibt im Wörterbuch einen eigenen Eintrag über Haschisch. Tatsächlich leitet sich das Wort “Attentäter” von Haschisch ab.

Der Missbrauch des Objekts

Wie Kinder in der Spieltherapie können die Dschihadisten ihre Schrecken nicht erkennen. Sie haben nie die Fähigkeit entwickelt, umzudenken und sich selbst zu betrachten, um sich Klarheit darüber zu verschaffen, warum sie ständig wütend sind. Sie verharren in Primitive Mental States (PMS) (nach G. Burgess Levine). Ihnen fehlt es an Empathie. Wir sind für sie nichts anderes als Objekte. Ihre mörderische Psyche ergießt sich auf die Leinwand des Tatorts. Sie haben jedoch keine Ahnung, wie transparent ihr Verhalten ist. Sie binden sich auch an harte Gegenstände wie Waffen, Bomben, um ihre zerbrechliche Persönlichkeit zu stützen.

Die mütterliche Bindung und ihre traumatische Dimension

Ob Sie es glauben oder nicht: die Gewalt der Dschihadisten stellt in Wirklichkeit eine nonverbale Kommunikation über ihre erste Bindungserfahrungen im Leben mit ihrer Mutter (oder ihrer primären Bezugsperson) dar, weil es die mütterliche Bindung ist, durch die man unbewusst lernt, sich mit anderen zu verbinden. Die Dschihadisten verbinden sich gewaltsam mit uns. Sie haben ein Problem namens Traumatische Bindung (Dutton), das routinemäßig bei Borderline-Persönlichkeitsstörungen und bei Psychopathen auftritt. Es ist ein gesellschaftliches Tabu, sich in Scham-Ehre-Kulturen (Timimi) psychisch von der Mutter zu lösen. Bedürfnisse werden unbewusst als toxisch erlebt. Deshalb projizieren Dschihadisten ihre Toxizität ständig auf uns.

 

Dennoch dürfen wir der Mutter niemals die Schuld geben, weil sie und ihre Kinder Opfer schrecklicher Misshandlungen geworden sind. Die gesamte Struktur des Patriarchats beruht auf dem Missbrauch des Weiblichen. Das Andere (Minderheiten) wird als das bedrohliche Weibliche wahrgenommen und daher gehasst, wie zum Beispiel Homosexuelle.

Ehrenmord = Mord-Selbstmord bei häuslicher Gewalt = ISB = Interrelated Violent Bonding

Mord-Selbstmord (und Ehrenmord) infolge häuslicher Gewalt drücken traumatische Bindungen aus. Dies erklärt die hohen Raten häuslicher Gewalt sowohl in Dschihad-Kulturen als auch in Ehre- und Schamkulturen von Clans, Stämmen, der Mafia etc. Dschihadisten bauen eine Hyper-Scham-Ehre-Subkultur auf.

Schande - Seelenmord an Kindern

Der Grüne Prinz, Sohn der Hamas, sagte, der größte Feind sei die Schande. In der arabisch-muslimischen Kultur muss man absichtlich Blut vergießen, um die männliche Ehre zu reinigen. Weibliche Ehre, wenn sie verloren geht, ist ein Todesurteil. Die Konvertiten, die sich radikalisieren, kommen auch aus Familien, die sie beschämt haben. Wenn das bloße Anschreien eines Kindes schwere Angstzustände auslöst, stellen Sie sich vor, was das Leben in einer chronisch beschämenden Umgebung mit einem Kind macht, das dann auch noch viel zu früh Mutter wird. Es ist nur eine Frage der Zeit, bis die Katastrophe eintritt.

Die vulkanische Eisberg-Mentalität

Ich habe den Begriff “Vulkanische Eisberg-Mentalität”(“The Volcanic Iceberg Mentality”) geprägt, um den netten Kerl von nebenan zu beschreiben, der sich in einen massenmörderischen Dschihadisten verwandelt, wie im Falle des Psychiaters Nidal Hassan vom Fort Hood-Massaker. Er erweckt den Anschein eines netten "coolen" Typen, in Wirklichkeit ist er aber ein brodelnder Vulkan voller Wut.

Ideologien entstehen aus Fantasien

Politische Ideologien verpacken diese vulkanische Wut lediglich. Die Ideologien verhüllen geschickt das oben erläuterte grundlegende innere Problem der Dschihadisten und geben ihm vor dem Hintergrund ihrer verkehrten Weltauffassung Deckung und Rechtfertigung. Schon die alten Propheten wussten, wie unheilvoll eine solche verkehrte Weltsicht ist: “Wehe denen, die das Böse gut und das Gute böse nennen.” (Jesaja 5:20)

95% der Gehirnaktivität findet außerhalb des Bewusstseins statt

(Van Rymenant, Neurowissenschaftler) 

Politische Ideologien sind emotional gelebte Überzeugungen, die aus dem unbewussten Fantasieleben entstehen, welches im Zuge der mütterlichen Bindung über unerfüllte Bedürfnisse geschaffen wurde. Die Fantasien sind ein wesentlicher Bestandteil dieser 95%. Während die Künstliche Intelligenz auf das Unbewusste zugreift, ist dieses unterirdische Terrain das Herzstück der Psychoanalyse. Die Psychoanalyse ist ein einzigartiges semiotisches, auf das Unbewusste gerichtetes sinnstiftendes Verfahren. Das gesamte menschliche Verhalten ist potenziell bedeutungsvoll.

Mein PhD in Islamischer Literatur

Ich wollte unparteiisch sein, wenn es darum ging, den Nahen Osten zu verstehen. Meinen ersten Doktortitel in islamischer Literatur habe ich über den Ahadith aus dem Spanien des 16. Jahrhunderts gemacht.

 

Ich habe einen umfangreichen Sprachhintergrund in romanischen und semitischen Sprachen. Der verstorbene Prof. Anwar Chejne war mein Betreuer und Berater. Er schrieb über das moslemische Spanien (University of Minnesota Press, 1974). Ich untersuchte die Convivencia. In Prof. Chejne’s berühmtem Geschichtsbuch findet sich jedoch kein Wort zum Dschihad. Nicht einmal die Invasion des berberischen Ummayad-Kommandeurs Tariq Ibn Ziyad in Spanien im Jahr 711 n. wird als Form des Dschihads “auf dem Wege Gottes” genannt. 

 

Vor meiner Promotion habe ich zwei separate B.A. Abschlüsse erworben, den ersten in Spanisch und Portugiesisch, den zweiten in Jüdischen Studien, gefolgt von einem MA in Spanisch und Portugiesisch und von postgradualen Studien in biblischem Hebräisch, Ladino und mittelalterlichem Italienisch einschließlich Deutsch und Latein.

Psychoanalyse

Nach diesen Studien absolvierte ich das Äquivalent einer zweiten Promotion in Psychoanalyse am Chicago Institute for Psychoanalysis, wohin ich pendelte, während ich in Minneapolis-St. Paul wohnte und praktizierte.

Ich unterrichtete und betreute Assistenzärzte der Psychiatrie. Ich habe mich auf Posttraumatische Belastungsstörungen spezialisiert.

 

Als jedoch 1983 im Libanon die islamischen Selbstmordattentäter auf Lastwagen hochgingen, behandelte ich Traumapatienten, Opfer. Dann fing ich an, den Geist und die Körpersprache des Täters zu erforschen – den Dschihad. Ich begann, funktional über das Problem als eine gewaltsame Bindung zwischen Täter und Opfer nachzudenken.

Somalia und Minnesota

So akademisch das alles klingen mag, bin ich doch dafür, alles vor Ort zu sehen, daher haben meine klinische Ausbildung und mein gemeinschaftliches Engagement meine Arbeit bereichert. 2005 lud mich Sheriff McGowen von Minneapolis ein, 325 Abgeordneten Unterricht über den radikalen Islam zu erteilen. Ich führte unter anderem Gefängnisinterviews, auch mit vielen Somaliern und Sudanesen.

 

Im Jahr 2007 begann ich mit zwei Krypto-Juden zu korrespondieren - Mutter und Sohn, die in Somalia geboren und aufgewachsen waren und die in Mogadischu gefangen gehalten wurden, als sich die Situation dort verschlechterte. Dieser junge Mann hat mir aus erster Hand Wissen über die somalische Kultur beigebracht. Ich habe außerdem etwas Af-Somali gelernt.

Afghanistan

2009 absolvierte ich das Human Terrain Program in Leavenworth, Kansas in Zusammenarbeit mit der US-Armee und dem Afghan Studies Program der University of Nebraska, Omaha. Ich sollte in die Provinz Helmand, Afghanistan, entsandt werden. Ich studierte Dari und Paschtu.

 

Israel

Im Jahr 2010 erfüllte ich mir einen Lebenstraum und wanderte nach Israel aus, wo ich meine Arbeit zur Zeit fortsetze. Ich habe fünf Bücher zum hier besprochenen Thema verfasst, von denen drei ins Hebräische, Französische und Spanische übersetzt wurden.

Pakistan

Außerdem engagiere ich mich für die Normalisierung der Beziehungen zwischen Israel und Pakistan - von Mensch zu Mensch. Mir wurde die Ehre zuteil, im August 2020 der erste israelische Live-Stream-Gast aus Islamabad des Sufi-Führers Syed Peer Mudassir Shah zu sein. Die Pakistaner kontaktierten mich, nachdem sie mein erstes Buch “The Banality of Suicide Terrorism” gelesen hatten. Eine Übersetzung ins Urdu war auch im Gespräch.

Normalizing Israeli-Pakistani Relations - Video

The Prologue to violence in early childhood - Podcast

Lob von „den Leuten, die wissen“

Für mich kommt die wichtigste Bestätigung meiner Arbeit von denen, die Erfahrungen aus erster Hand haben, die in den Ehre- und Schamkulturen des Clans und des Stammes aufgewachsen sind. Sie melden sich wiederholt, um mir ihren Dank dafür auszusprechen, dass ich ihnen erklärt habe, was sie infolge der Unterdrückung in der patriarchalen Ehre-und Scham-Umgebung erdulden mussten.

Warum der Deep Dive?

Warum den tiefen Tauchgang machen? Oder warum sollten wir uns die Mühe machen, psychologisch tief zu graben? Weil uns das Wissen über den Geist und die Körpersprache der Dschihadisten ein außergewöhnlich starkes psychologisches Werkzeug zur Hand gibt und uns einen Vorteil gewährt. Dieses Spezialwissen macht nicht nur den Terror erklärlich, sondern dreht auch die Lautstärke des Terrorismus herunter. Man kann darin deutlich das alte Sprichwort von den neuen Kleidern des Kaisers erkennen. Somit ermöglicht ein solches Wissen intelligentere und wirksamere Interventionen. Dieses Wissen fördert auch die Widerstandsfähigkeit in diesem langen Krieg.

Rasen mähen oder einen Wurzelkanal behandeln?

Also “mähen wir den Rasen”, d.h.  wollen wir mit den Dschihadisten Whac-A-Mole spielen oder lieber tief in die Wurzel des Problems eindringen? Die richtige  Antwort schließt keine der beiden Varianten aus, sondern macht beide Strategien erforderlich, da sie koextensiv und synergetisch und daher effektiver und langlebiger sind.

Fazit

Als savtah (hebr. Großmutter) von sieben Enkelkindern bleibe ich ungebrochen optimistisch, was die Zukunft Ihrer und meiner Enkel anbelangt. Dieses Problem ist eindämmbar und behandelbar. Die Bildung bleibt der Schlüssel zur Lösung des Problems. Auch wenn es keine Wunderwaffe gibt und die Lösung nicht gleich morgen zu erwarten ist, können wir es uns nicht leisten - unserer geistigen Gesundheit zuliebe und zum Wohle künftiger Generationen - uns der Aufgabe nicht anzunehmen. Haben Sie keine Angst, den Tauchgang zu machen. Yallah.

My Books For The Deep Dive

The Banality of Suicide Terrorism: The Naked Truth About the Psychology of Islamic Suicide Bombing

The Banality of Suicide Terrorism: The Naked Truth...

(English Edition)

Penetrating The Terrorist Psyche

Penetrating The Terrorist Psyche

The Banality of Suicide Terrorism: The Naked Truth About The Psychology of Islamic Suicide Bombing (Hebrew Edition)

The Banality of Suicide Terrorism: The Naked Truth...

(Hebrew Edition)

The Last Two Jews of Mogadishu: Living Under Al Shabaab's Fire

The Last Two Jews of Mogadishu: Living Under Al Shabaab's Fire

The Maternal Drama of the Chechen Jihadi

The Maternal Drama of the Chechen Jihadi

The Jihadi Dictionary: The Essential Intel Tool for Military, Law Enforcement, Government and the Concerned Public

The Jihadi Dictionary: The Essential Intel Tool for Military, Law Enforcement...

"Peace will come when they love their children more than they hate us."

Golda Meir

IMG_1522.jpeg

Golda, Ben Gurion and Me

Thanks for submitting!

Contact
bottom of page

Nancy Hartevelt Kobrin, Ph.D.

Psychoanalyst Counter Terrorist Expert

Welcome

The prologue to violence is early childhood.  I make explainable the violent nonverbal language of the jihadis which I call Jihadese. It reveals a rage that exceeds murder itself, as if it were serial killing.  Jihadese holds the key to political terrorism. Jihadese shows that the rage is not of this time, not of this place.  A deep dive into their psyche reveals this. Let's dive right in by exploring my work.

On the ground

Clinic, Military, Police, Educators

About

A psychoanalyst who becomes a counter terrorist expert delving into the mind and body language of the jihadi is a rarity. This is what I do - one of the deepest dives to date, to the best of my knowledge, into the mind of the jihadi. Having taught military and police, I realized that they do not have the opportunity to study early childhood development which is critical in order to understand why jihadis do the violent things that they do. They have a rage that exceeds murder itself. They annihilate the other and produce body parts as in serial killing. They are the tip of the spear. Also ontributing editor Weekly Blitz https://www.weeklyblitz.net/about-us/.

 
 

The Backstory

I developed a theory of imagery to explain the unconscious meaning of the Islamic suicide attack demonstrating that it embraces a death fusion, i.e. concretely fusing together in death. It is the opposite of the life fusion, the maternal symbiosis: think of either the  image of a pregnant woman and/or Madonna and child.

By Doïna Harap with a cameo appearance of Dr. Kobrin

Jihadese 

My "deep dive dictionary" reveals their special disturbed nonverbal language in which the jihadis communicate. I spent eight years creating The Jihadi Dictionary: The Essential Tool for Military, Law Enforcement, Government and the Concerned Public. The dictionary received an outstanding review in German in the prestigious journal Psyche.  As of this writing the dictionary has been translated into French by Joëlle Perelberg-Houriez and is being translated into Spanish by La Universidad de Granada. 

The dictionary builds out a subfield within counter terrorism studies about childhood development. Fear is not terror. Terror is deep, early and nonverbal. The jihadis speak in a "maternal" pantomime about their own terrors. They don't feel their terrors. They become the terror. They project it into us. Just press the mute button on the big screen. Ask yourself what are the jihadis really saying?

Has the dictionary been helpful? To cite one example, the dictionary is now in the hands of the French lawyers who continue to pursue justice for the horrific jihadi murder of Sarah Halimi z"l 2017. Her assailant, Kabili Traoré, was high on marijuana. There is a long history of drug use also including captagon. Hashish is a weapon of jihad. There is an entry on hashish. Indeed the word "assassin" is thought to derive from Hashish.

The Misuse Of The Object

Like children in play therapy the jihadis can not identify their terrors. They never developed the capacity to turn the corner to take a look at themselves, to ponder why they are so perpetually enraged. They have Primitive Mental States (PMS) (Burgess Levine). They lack empathy. People are nothing more than objects to them. Their murderous psyche spills out on to the canvas of the crime scene. They are clueless as to how transparent their behavior is. They also bond with hard objects such as weapons and bombs in order to support their fragile personalities. 

The Maternal Bond And Its Traumatic Bonding

Believe it or not, their violence is a nonverbal communication about their first bonding experience in life with their mothers (or primary caregivers) because  it is through the maternal attachment that you unconsciously learn how to bond to others. They bond violently to us. They have a problem called traumatic bonding (Dutton) routinely seen in borderline personality disorders and in psychopaths. It is a social taboo to separate psychologically from one's mother in shame honor cultures (Timimi). Needs are experienced unconsciously as toxic. That is why they are constantly projecting their toxicity on to us. 

Yet we must never blame the mother because she and her children were victims of horrific abuse. The entire structure of patriarchy is predicated on the misuse of the female. The Other (minorities) is perceived as the threatening female and thus hated, such as homosexuals.

Honor Killing = Domestic Violence's Murder-Suicide = Islamic Suicide Bombing = Interrelated Violent Bonding

Domestic violence's murder-suicide  and honor killing express traumatic bonding. That is why there are high rates of domestic violence in jihadi cultures as well as in shame honor cultures of clans, tribes, the mafia etc. Jihadis constitute a hyper shame honor subculture. Even though Islamic Suicide Bombing is a political tool it remains a type of murder-suicide concrete fusion. Thus, it is related to honor killing and domestic violence's murder-suicide.

Shame - Soul Murder Of Children

The Green Prince, Son of Hamas, said that the greatest enemy is shame. In Arab Muslim culture you must willfully spill blood in order to cleanse male honor. Female honor if lost is a death sentence. The converts who radicalize also come from families who shamed them. If simply yelling at a child induces severe anxiety, imagine what life under a chronic shaming environment does to a child who then becomes a mother at all to young an age. It is a disaster waiting to happen.

The Volcanic Iceberg Mentality

I coined the term The Volcanic Iceberg Mentality to describe the nice guy next door who turns into a mass murdering jihadi such as the psychiatrist Nidal Hassan of the Fort Hood Massacre. Giving the appearance of a nice "cool" guy, he is really a seething volcano of rage.

Ideologies Arise Out Of Fantasies

Political ideologies merely package this volcanic rage. The ideologies cleverly cloak this fundamental internal problem of the jihadis giving it cover and justification within their reverse world mentality. Even the ancient prophets understood this twisted mind:  Woe to those who call evil good and good evil . . .Isaiah 5:20

95% Of Brain Activity Is Outside Conscious Awareness

(Van Rymenant, neuroscientist) 

Political ideologies are emotionally lived beliefs which arise out of unconscious fantasy life created during the maternal attachment concerning unmet needs. The fantasies are part and parcel of that 95%. While Artificial Intelligence accesses the non-conscious, this sub-terrain is the heart of psychoanalysis. Psychoanalysis is a unique semiotic meaning-making endeavor of the unconscious. All of human behavior is potentially meaningful.

My Ph.D. In Islamic Literature

I wanted to be even-handed in understanding the Middle East. I undertook my first doctorate in Islamic literature, Ahadith of 16th century Spain written in Old Spanish in Arabic script called aljamía.

I have an extensive language background in Romance and Semitic languages. The late Prof. Anwar Chejne was my advisor. He wrote Muslim Spain (University of Minnesota Press, 1974).  I studied convivencia, i.e. coexistence. However, there is not one word of jihad in his famous history book. Not even the Berber Ummayad commander Tariq Ibn Ziyad's invasion of Spain in 711 A.D. is referred to as jihad, fi sabil Allah, fighting in the path of Allah. 

Prior to my doctorate I did two separate B.A. degrees,  the first in Spanish and Portuguese, the second in Jewish Studies, followed by an M.A. in Spanish and Portuguese and post-graduate work in Biblical Hebrew, Ladino and medieval Italian including German and Latin.

Psychoanalysis

After these studies I undertook the equivalent of a "second Ph.D." in psychoanalysis at the Chicago Institute for Psychoanalysis to where I commuted while living and practicing in Minneapolis-St. Paul. I taught  and supervised psychiatry residents. I specialized in Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder. I had my own private practice.

However,  when the Islamic suicide truck bombs went off in Lebanon in 1983 I was treating trauma patients, victims. I started to research the mind and body language of the perpetrator - the jihadi. Then I began to think functionally about the problem as a violent bonding between perpetrator-victim.

Somalia and Minnesota

As academic as all this may sound, I am a proponent of seeing it on the ground, hence my clinical training and communal involvement have enriched my work. In 2005 Minneapolis Sheriff McGowen invited me to educate 325 deputies on radical Islam. I also conducted prison interviews, many of whom were Somali and Sudanese.

In 2007 I began corresponding with the last two crypto-Jews, a mother and son who were born and raised in Somalia. They were trapped in Mogadishu as the situation deteriorated. This young man educated me about Somali culture first hand. I studied a bit of af-Somali.

Afghanistan

In 2008-9 I was a military contractor with BAE Systems.  I graduated from the Human Terrain Program, Leavenworth, Kansas in conjunction with the U.S. Army  and the Afghan Studies Program at the University of Nebraska, Omaha. I  was slated to deploy to Helmand Province, Afghanistan. I studied study Dari and Pashto.

Israel

In 2010 fulfilling a life-long dream I immigrated to Israel where I continue my work. I have authored five books on the subject with three translated into Hebrew, French and Spanish forthcoming.

Pakistan

In addition I am involved in normalization of relations between Israel and Pakistan - people to people. I was given the honor to be the first Israeli live-streamed from Islamabad by the Sufi leader Syed Peer Mudassir Shah in August 2020. The Pakistanis contacted me after reading my first book The Banality of Suicide Terrorism. A Pakistani colleague  wanted to translate the book  into Urdu.

Normalizing Israeli-Pakistani Relations - Podcast

The Prologue to violence in early childhood - Podcast

I also am a senior research analyst with the Islamic Theology of Counter Terrorism directed by Noor Dahri.

Commendations From “The People Who Know”

For me the most important validation which has been gratifying is from those who have had first-hand experience having grown up in the shame honor cultures of the clan and tribe.  They repeatedly reach out to me to not only to thank me but to also  say that I have explained to them what they have endured under the oppressiveness of the patriarchal shame-honor environment.​

Why The Deep Dive?

Why bother doing the deep dive? Or why should we bother to dig deep psychologically? Because to know the mind and body language of the jihadis gives you an exceptionally powerful psychological tool and edge. It not only makes sense out of the terror but this special knowledge turns down the volume on the terrorism. One can see transparently the old adage of the Emperor's New Clothes. Thus, such knowledge facilitates making wiser and more effective interventions. This knowledge also fosters resiliency in the long war.

To Mow The Lawn Or To Do A Root Canal?

So do we "mow the lawn" i.e. play whack-a-mole with the jihadis or do we do a deep dive to the root of the problem? The answer is not one or the other but demands both strategies because they are coextensive and synergistic, hence more effective and long lasting.

To Conclude

Finally as savtah (Hebr. grandma) to seven, I remain unbreakably optimistic for your grandchildren and mine. This problem is containable and treatable. Education remains the key. Even though there is no silver bullet and resolution will not happen tomorrow, we can not afford not to take up the task for our sanity and for the sake of future generations. Do not be terrified to take the dive. Yallah.

My Books For The Deep Dive

The Banality of Suicide Terrorism: The Naked Truth About the Psychology of Islamic Suicide Bombing

The Banality of Suicide Terrorism: The Naked Truth...

(English Edition)

Penetrating The Terrorist Psyche

Penetrating The Terrorist Psyche

The Banality of Suicide Terrorism: The Naked Truth About The Psychology of Islamic Suicide Bombing (Hebrew Edition)

The Banality of Suicide Terrorism: The Naked Truth...

(Hebrew Edition)

The Last Two Jews of Mogadishu: Living Under Al Shabaab's Fire

The Last Two Jews of Mogadishu: Living Under Al Shabaab's Fire

The Maternal Drama of the Chechen Jihadi

The Maternal Drama of the Chechen Jihadi

The Jihadi Dictionary: The Essential Intel Tool for Military, Law Enforcement, Government and the Concerned Public

The Jihadi Dictionary: The Essential Intel Tool for Military, Law Enforcement...

"Peace will come when they love their children more than they hate us."

Golda Meir

IMG_1522.jpeg

Golda, Ben Gurion and Me

Thanks for submitting!